top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenée Russell

I am.

Updated: Jun 8, 2019

Do you ever wonder about who you are? When you are born, you are a daughter, a son, a sister, or a brother. When you start school, you are a student. When you begin to realize the differences between you and your peers, you are this, you are that. You are black, I am black. You begin to hate to label yourself and wonder what purpose you serve in life. Trust me, I have gone through the motions.


Growing up wasn’t always easy when you had a definite label that defined your character. When you had to push through obstacles that were put there for you to fail. Tripping over every single one, and hurting yourself every single time. Trying to please other people. Trying to fit the standard of “normal”. Trying not to be “ghetto”. Being black and a female meant that I had to do triple the work, and put in triple the effort. Ok.... quadruple the effort. I did not know what purpose I served in life other than being a black girl from Queens, NY. Time and patience have shown me that I have come far from where I started and sometimes you have to break a couple of eggs to make an omelet. So, hello world, I am here. I am in Uganda. I am a 22-year-old masters student. I am a doctor in the making, and I am grateful.


This blog is here to show you the greatness in what you can do for the world when you start to believe in your own capabilities. I am here to show you my experiences and to only hope to give you inspiration.


Someone once told me “Everyone is a genius. If you judge a fish’s ability on how to climb a tree, it will live its whole entire life thinking it’s a failure”. Make that sacrifice.



77 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page