top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenée Russell

Love Your Community

I got a chance to visit seven villages to help assist Engeye’s Village Health Team (VHT) members with community education. The villagers were educated daily and tested on HIV and Tuberculosis. The VHT’s educate their community on how to detect, prevent, and treat common diseases in Uganda so that they do not spread amongst their people. The efforts that the VHT’s put into their community to help decrease the risk of disease is amazing. When I first came to Uganda, everything seemed so big. There were so many people, children, boda bodas, and complicated paths within the villages with little to no signs. I only wanted to stay within the clinic for the first week or two. However, after traveling to meet with the community, I realized that every village was like a small bubble. The people who live there know each other personally and care for one another without hesitation. It’s completely understandable as to why the health of their neighbor is so important. As a city girl this is an unfamiliar concept to me. Outside of friends and family of course. For example, if my neighbor has flu-like symptoms I most likely wouldn't even know about it, and to be honest what could I possibly do for them when we’re practically strangers to one another? Here, if one person gets sick, there is a complete domino effect.


We received gifts as gratuity and a sign of respect for coming into their homes to spend time with them. Elizabeth and I were given avocados, soda, and even a chicken that we named Coco. Some of the people we met wished they could've done more, but I was very appreciative of a simple thank you. It felt good to witness the change that the clinic is making in the community. Even though it is sometimes hard for the VHT members; they work within the community with no compensation or incentive for doing the work. They each have a family to support and could use the monetary value that comes from their service, but they do it regardless of what may come in return because it was important to them. Instead of money or gifts they all gained something that can’t be replaced and is worth all the hard work consistently put in daily. That something is knowledge and it is power in its purest form. This type of program is rewarding in ways money can’t always fulfill and I have been lucky enough to be engaged in all of its glory first hand.


I am thankful for life, thankful for being here, thankful for going into my second year as a master’s student, and thankful for those who believed in me in even when I didn’t believe in myself. I am thankful for waking up every morning and thankful to be going home in a few weeks to see my family. I am looking forward to everything that life has in store for the end of year and am constantly wanting to move forward and take my experiences with me.

Picture: VHT member Joesphine Nakayiki (left), Mama Polly (middle), Elizabeth (right), Jenée (far right)


Picture: Jenée (left), VHT member Resty Nabyonga and Coco (middle), Elizabeth (right)


The biggest takeaway from all this was realizing how a community could be like a ship. A ship that needs the support of everyone in order to move in the right direction. By improving the quality of health and life of one family, you are improving it for others around you. This goes for developed and developing countries alike.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page